Could you tell us a little bit about your educational background?

I graduated from Tulane University in 2016 with a dual major in neuroscience and psychology. After graduation I sought learning opportunities outside the classroom, working in patient coordination and volunteering with reproductive healthcare, crisis response, and LGBTQ+ advocacy organizations.

What first got you interested in the healthcare field as a career choice? There are a lot of career options in the field -nursing, physician assistant, etc., what made you decide that genetic counseling was the right practice area/career choice for you?

I’ve always been interested in the role that genetics play in mental and physical health, so I began looking for career choices that would enable me to explore at the intersection of genetics, neuroscience, and psychology. I knew I wanted a career that combined connection, advocacy, research, and direct patient care, so when a professor suggested I explore genetic counseling, I knew I’d found the perfect fit.

What type of obstacles have you had to overcome on the road to getting your education and in particular in pursuing your Genetic Counseling degree?

I grew up in a rural community, which made adjusting to college life in a city far from home uniquely challenging - academically, socially, and mentally. As I worked to catch up to classmates, I found myself lacking the passion necessary for my entry major and had to re-discover my drive by switching majors my junior year. I didn’t match my first year applying to genetic counseling programs and took the rejections hard, but the time I spent building skills before this year’s application cycle was well worth it.

What are you most looking forward to about beginning your Genetic Counseling studies?

I’m excited to learn, both in the classroom and from my classmates, who are coming from a variety of backgrounds and fields of study. I’m moving from Minnesota, so I’m also very much looking forward to studying in sunny California.

What is one fun and interesting fact about you?

I’m a musician – I play guitar and banjo!