Kathy Webster

AACP Selects Dr. Kathy Webster for James E. Wynn Memorial Award

The Chemistry Section of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) awarded the James E. Wynn Memorial Award to the late Kathy Webster during the association’s virtual meeting in July 2020.

The AACP established the James E. Wynn Memorial Award in 2014. It was created to recognize a member of the section who possesses the same passion and priorities for pharmacy education that James Wynn had. These include gifted teaching, positive energy, honor, visionary academic skills, genuine caring for colleagues and strong mentoring for students.

As the Founding Dean of the Keck Graduate Institute (KGI) School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (SPHS), Webster was a visionary leader and a genuine innovator in higher education. She was named founding dean in 2013 and successfully led the school from candidate to accredited status. Webster’s incredible energy and dedication made her vision for the school’s future a reality. 

Under Webster’s leadership, the entire SPHS leadership team was hired, she recruited world-class faculty and staff, and she successfully integrated an entirely new hands-on active learning curriculum into the design of the program. For Webster, her priority was always putting the students first and ensuring their success. 

AACP plaque