kgi campus hr page

KGI Celebrates 2019-2020 Accomplishments During Virtual Awards Ceremonies

In celebration of KGI’s accomplishments during the 2019-20 academic year, the School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and Henry E. Riggs School of Applied Life Sciences hosted virtual award ceremonies this week to honor their students, faculty, and staff. The 2020 Commencement Ceremony was postponed due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, but an in-person ceremony will take place as soon as it’s safe to do so.

Congratulations once again to the award winners and all of our students who have earned degrees and certificates in 2020!

School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Student Awards

  • CVS Health Foundation Scholarship: Roxanne Marquez Arellano
  • CVS Health Foundation Scholarship: Kristian Tan
  • Class of 2023 Walgreens Diversity and Inclusion Excellence: Jemal Hussein
  • Class of 2023 Walgreens Multilingual Scholarship: Vedanshi Bhojak
  • P1 Student Pharmacist of the Year: Jemal Hussein
  • P2 Student Pharmacist of the Year: Carolyn Saba
  • P3 Student Pharmacist of the Year: Richard Cale
  • Class of 2021 Excellence in Teamwork Award: Team 7
    • Students: Kevin Nguyen, Tiffany Samouha, Hollie Maguire, Chidozie Oluba, Winnie Chan, Delphine Wang
    • Peer mentor: Maral Karalekian
    • Faculty advisor: Mylene Manalo
  • Class of 2023 Excellence in Teamwork Award: Team 9
    • Students: Nella Kassab, Negin Namavar, Jemal Hussein, Yi Wei Li, Eddie Esquivel Tapia, Marjan Qubadi
    • Peer mentors: Alice Wong and Farzan Haji
    • Faculty advisor: Talia Puzantian
  • P1 Student of the Year: Tina Doan
  • P2 Student of the Year: Joshua Liu
  • P3 Student of the Year: Salar Sheykhsoltan
  • Class of 2020 Exceptional Student of the Year: Adrienne Desens
  • PharmD Impact Award: Brandon Dacloc Nguyen
  • Mylan Award: Adrienne Desens
  • Class of 2020 Walmart Scholarship: Chris Lim
  • GCAT Award for the Human Genetics and Genetic Counseling Program: Cynthia Haag
  • Student Genetic Counseling Impact Award: Breann Reinsch
  • MSGC Thesis Award: Guadalupe Carvajal
  • MSGC Thesis Award: Jacob Comeaux
  • GCAT Award for the Human Genetics and Genomic Data Analytics Program: Betty Mathias
  • Exceptional Genomic Data Analytics Student: Taylor Dean

Faculty and Staff Awards

  • MSGC Excellence in Teaching: Emily Quinn
  • MSGDA Excellence in Teaching: Zach Dodds
  • PharmD P1 Excellence in Teaching: Derick Han
  • PharmD P2 Excellence in Teaching: Christine Cadiz
  • PharmD P3 Excellence in Teaching: Jeany Jun
  • PharmD P4 Excellence in Teaching: Srikanth Kolluru
  • SPHS Teacher of the Year: Christine Cadiz
  • Staff of the Year: Iris Patronite
  • Excellence in Research: Rachita Sumbria
  • Excellence in Professional Service: Christine Cadiz

Preceptor Awards

  • Introductory Pharmacy Practice Experience (IPPE) Preceptor of the Year: Steve Shen
  • Advanced Practice Experience (APPE) Preceptor of the Year: Anthony Dam
  • Faculty Preceptor of the Year: Mylene Manalo
  • Experiential Education Coordinator of the Year: Christina Qi

Henry E. Riggs School of Applied Life Sciences

Student Awards

  • Highest Academic Performance Award: Amelia Huynh and Eemon Tizpa
  • Distinguished Service Award: Masami Amakawa
  • Mission Award: Nina Kar
  • Exemplary Leadership Award: John Strom

Team-Based Awards

  • Business Plan Competition Award: Westwood Biosciences (Quinn Levin, Gabriella Alden, Erick Yeh, Eric Young)
  • TMP Excellence in Collaboration Award
    • First Place: Pfizer (Isaiah Alba, Gabriella Alden, Amelia Huynh, Parizad Panthaki, Joselin Vizcaya, Maxine Yang)
    • Runner Up: Gilead Oceanside (Lester Chiu, Aaron Jensen, Khuong Kent Le, Stephanie Lee, Madely Robles, Aparajitha Sridhar)

Faculty and Staff Awards