The Claremont Colleges is a consortium of seven independent, private institutions, five at the undergraduate level and two at the graduate level. The Claremont Colleges have a structure and organization unique in American higher education. The Claremont Colleges Services (TCCS), an eighth corporate entity, operates many central services and programs for the benefit of all seven academic members. These include: the joint library system; the Huntley Bookstore; such fiscal services as the joint busines s office and the employee benefits office; student services such as the Office of Black Students Affairs; Chicano/Latino Student Affairs Center; Student Disability Resource Center. In addition to these central programs and service, many other cooperative arrangements involve from two to all seven of the institutions . Open enrollment is maintained by all institutions for the benefit of all matriculated students.

The consortium was started in 1925 under the leadership of Pomona College. Claremont Graduate University was formed in 1925; Scripps College in 1926; Claremont McKenna College in 1946; Harvey Mudd College in 1955; Pitzer College in 1963; and Keck Graduate Institute in 1997 . Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Gardens, which offers graduate training in botany, is one of several institutions affiliated with The Claremont Colleges.